New vocabulary : Gestalt

GESTALT

Recently, I learnt a new word called “Gestalt” which basically means shape or form. Our professor showed us an example in class where lines were rotated such that the negative space showed a circle. It is like the popular Rubin’s vase image, where 2 faces can be seen and a white vase forms in the negative space.

I did quite some research on it on Google and Lynda.com as I was really fascinated by the idea of being able to see two images as our brains switch between the negative and positive images inside the image.

 

 

 

tumblr_inline_nyeo1xf46n1rd0qsd_400

An example i found on google on Gestalt. Here, we can see 4 T’s as well as a white cross that is formed in the negative space of the T’s. I also found a lot of logos that used gestalt like the FedEx logo.

screen-shot-2016-09-15-at-10-41-57-pm

I tried using this technique in my assignment. For example, here we can see 2 black arrow marks at the same time a white square in the negative space.

screen-shot-2016-09-15-at-10-41-38-pm

This is another one I tried; a white triangle can be seen in the negative space formed by the black triangles.

 

Leave a comment